It is my privilege to present the Law Society’s 2016 Annual Report. You will find reflected here the real progress we have made in supporting the five strategic priorities for the 2015-2019 term, established by Convocation, our governing board.

Those priorities are: to lead as a professional regulator; to engage stakeholders and the public with responsive communications; to increase organizational effectiveness; to enhance professional competence; and to increase access to justice across Ontario. You will find highlights below, and more details in the Annual Report itself as well as on our website.

Paul B. Schabas,
Treasurer

Leading as a professional regulator

Challenges Faced by Racialized Licensees Working Group

The Law Society is committed to leading change to ensure that the professions are diverse, inclusive, and forward thinking. A major step towards creating this change was taken in December, when Convocation approved the Final Report by the Challenges Faced by Racialized Licensees Working Group. The culmination of thorough study and province-wide consultation, this report contains a set of robust recommendations designed to address issues of systemic racism in the legal professions.

Mental Health Strategy

A long-term Mental Health Strategy was approved by Convocation in April 2016. We want to improve access to appropriate resources for lawyers and paralegals and their families who are facing mental illness and addiction issues. The strategy also suggests we examine how mental illness and addiction issues are most appropriately addressed in our regulatory context. Convocation’s Mental Health Strategy Implementation Task Force is monitoring the roll out of the various components of the strategy.

Advertising and Fees Arrangements Issues

Licensees’ advertising and fee arrangements have been the subject of review and analysis by a Working Group of the Professional Regulation Committee created in 2016. The review included a series of focus groups with practitioners and stakeholders and consultation with the public and the professions. Early in 2017, Convocation moved to limit referral fees and strengthen advertising rules. The Working Group continues to consider related issues such as contingency fees and advertising and fees in real estate.

Engage stakeholders and the public with responsive communications

Communications Strategy

The Law Society is undertaking a comprehensive communications strategy to raise the public’s awareness around access and help for legal issues; build understanding of the role of lawyers and paralegals; and how we serve the public within the justice system. This strategy, rolling out in 2017, will look at how we can enhance the profile of the Law Society and the professions across the diverse communities of Ontario.

Indigenous Initiatives

A key part of the Law Society’s continued efforts to increase access to justice for Indigenous peoples in Ontario is the development of an Indigenous framework. A crucial component of this framework will be our response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Calls to Action.

We are honoured to be guided by our partnership with the Indigenous Advisory Group, whose members include legal professionals and Elders from First Nation, Métis and Inuit communities. We have a number of new and ongoing Indigenous initiatives to support lawyers and paralegals in this area, and were especially pleased to launch Canada’s first Certified Specialization in Indigenous Legal Issues in 2016.

There are now free legal resources in First Nation languages available from the Law Society. We worked in collaboration with Indigenous advisors to produce a quick reference legal guide and two fact sheets in Cree, Oji-Cree and Northwestern Ojibwe, in addition to English and French. These resources provide information about Law Society services and sources of free and low-cost legal information and were created to support Indigenous people who are facing legal issues.

Increase organizational effectiveness

Committee Memoranda

As Treasurer, I am deeply committed to enhancing transparency and efficiency in the governance of the Law Society. To meet this goal, my first step was to issue public memoranda to each of Convocation’s standing committees that outline the committee’s mandate and how it fits within the Law Society’s strategic priorities. This is key to improving Convocation’s focus and accountability while bringing more transparency to our processes.

Governance Task Force

At my request, Convocation established the Governance Task Force in 2016 to examine the Law Society’s current governance structure. I look forward to reviewing the Task Force’s recommendations on how we might improve our governance processes and achieve greater effectiveness and efficiency as a governing body.

Prioritize life-long competence for lawyers and paralegals

Coach and Advisor Network

I am extremely proud that we launched the Coach and Advisor Network (CAN) in November 2016. CAN provides short-term Advisors and longer-term Coaches to foster best practices throughout the professions. Participants increase their competence and confidence and Coaches and Advisors realize opportunities to learn and hone their own skills.

Dialogue on Licensing

Following the 2016 review of the Pathways Pilot Project, Convocation announced a province-wide Dialogue on Licensing, to take place across the province in early 2017 as the first phase of review. The goal is to formulate long-term recommendations for an appropriate, sustainable lawyer licensing system. We invite you to join the dialogue and provide your input around four topics: The Need for Change; Market Dynamics and the Lawyer Profession; Licensing Examinations: Assessment of Entry-level Competence; and Transitional Training.

Enhance access to justice across Ontario

The Action Group on Access to Justice

The Action Group on Access to Justice (TAG) was established by the Law Society in 2015, with funding from the Law Foundation of Ontario, to facilitate better coordination and collaboration across the justice sector. In 2016, TAG launched Ontario’s inaugural Access to Justice Week. The week’s events focused on key access to justice issues including technology, public legal education and child welfare. TAG was also nominated, in 2016, for two legal access awards from the American Bar Association for its engagement work with rural and remote librarians.

Legal Aid Working Group

In 2016, I committed to elevating the Law Society’s involvement in the legal aid discussion in Ontario by forming a Legal Aid Working Group. The Working Group is engaging with justice and community allies, exploring opportunities for robust and sustainable legal aid services for Ontarians. A well-funded Legal Aid system is critical in ensuring access to justice for low-income Ontarians.

The path ahead

I encourage you to look through our Annual Report for 2016. It was an eventful year at the Law Society, and I am proud of the advances we made. They will provide a strong foundation for our continuing pursuit of excellence in 2017.

It is through the efforts of our benchers, Law Society staff, and the many people I’ve had the honour to work with, that we are able to advance our mandate. Looking ahead, I am confident in our ability to regulate the professions in the public interest and ensure lawyers and paralegals are well-equipped to serve the evolving legal needs of all Ontarians.

Thank you. Merci. Meegwetch.

J’ai le privilège de présenter le rapport annuel du Barreau pour 2016. Vous y trouverez les réels progrès que nous avons faits pour soutenir les cinq priorités stratégiques à l’appui du mandat de 2015 à 2019, fixées par notre Conseil d’administration.

Ces priorités sont : diriger à titre d’ordre professionnel ; mobiliser les intervenants et le public grâce à une communication dynamique ; augmenter l’efficacité de l’organisation ; prioriser la compétence continue des avocats et des parajuristes ; améliorer l’accès à la justice en Ontario. Vous en trouverez des points saillants ci-dessous et d’autres détails dans le rapport annuel ainsi que sur notre site Web.

Paul B. Schabas,
trésorier

Diriger à titre d’ordre professionnel

Groupe de travail sur les défis des titulaires de permis racialisés

Le Barreau entend mener le changement pour s’assurer que les professions sont diverses, inclusives et avant-gardistes. Une grande étape vers ce changement a été prise en décembre, lorsque le Conseil a approuvé le rapport final du Groupe de travail sur les défis des titulaires de permis racialisés. Point culminant de cette étude en profondeur et à l’échelle de la province, ce rapport contient des recommandations solides conçues pour aborder les enjeux de racisme systémique dans les professions juridiques.

Stratégie de santé mentale

Le Conseil a approuvé une stratégie sur la santé mentale à long terme en avril 2016. Nous voulons améliorer l’accès aux ressources appropriées pour les avocats et les parajuristes et leurs familles qui font face à des problèmes de santé mentale et de dépendance. La stratégie propose aussi que nous examinions comment la maladie mentale et les problèmes de dépendance peuvent être mieux abordés dans un contexte de règlementation. Le Groupe de travail du Conseil sur la mise en œuvre de la stratégie sur la santé mentale surveille le déroulement des diverses composantes de la stratégie.

Publicité et ententes sur les honoraires

La publicité et les ententes sur les honoraires des titulaires de permis font l’objet d’un examen et d’une analyse par le Groupe de travail du Comité sur la règlementation de la profession créé en 2016. L’examen consistait en groupes de discussion avec des praticiens et des intervenants, et une consultation avec le public et les professions. Au début de 2017, le Conseil a demandé de limiter les frais de renvoi et de renforcer les règles sur la publicité. Le Groupe de travail continue d’examiner les enjeux connexes comme les honoraires conditionnels et la publicité et les honoraires en droit immobilier.

Mobiliser les intervenants et le public grâce à une communication dynamique

Stratégie de communication

Le Barreau déploie une stratégie globale de communications pour sensibiliser le public aux questions d’accès et d’aide avec les problèmes juridiques ; pour faire comprendre le rôle des avocats et des parajuristes ; et pour mieux faire comprendre comment nous servons le public dans le système juridique. Cette stratégie, qui sera déployée en 2017, analysera comment nous pouvons améliorer le profil du Barreau et des professions dans les diverses communautés de l’Ontario.

Initiatives autochtones

Une grande partie des efforts continus du Barreau pour augmenter l’accès à la justice par les peuples autochtones en Ontario est le développement d’un cadre de travail pour les questions autochtones. Une composante cruciale de ce cadre est notre réponse aux appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada.

Nous avons eu l’honneur d’être guidés par notre partenariat avec le Groupe consultatif autochtone, dont les membres comprennent des professionnels juridiques et des ainés des Premières Nations, métis et inuit.

Nous avons plusieurs initiatives autochtones nouvelles et en cours pour aider les avocats et les parajuristes dans ce secteur, et nous sommes particulièrement heureux d’avoir lancé le premier domaine de spécialisation sur les enjeux autochtones en 2016.

Le Barreau offre maintenant des ressources gratuites en langues des Premières Nations. Nous travaillons avec des conseillers autochtones pour produire un guide juridique de consultation rapide et deux fiches d’information en cri, oji-cri et ojibwé du Nord-Ouest, en plus du français et de l’anglais. Ces ressources fournissent des renseignements sur les services du Barreau et des sources d’information juridique à faible cout, et ont été élaborées pour aider les Autochtones qui ont des problèmes juridiques.

Augmenter l’efficacité de l’organisation

Notes de service aux comités

Comme trésorier, je suis profondément engagé à améliorer la transparence et la bonne gouvernance du Barreau. Pour atteindre cet objectif, ma première mesure a été de diffuser une note de service publique à chacun des comités permanents du Conseil qui souligne le mandat du comité et sa place dans les priorités stratégiques du Barreau. Cela est crucial pour améliorer l’imputabilité du Conseil et pour rendre les processus plus transparents.

Groupe de travail sur la gouvernance

À ma demande, le Conseil a créé le Groupe de travail sur la gouvernance en 2016 pour examiner la structure actuelle du Barreau. J’attends avec anticipation de lire les recommandations du Groupe de travail sur la façon dont nous pourrions améliorer nos processus de gouvernance et être plus efficaces comme organe de direction.

Prioriser la compétence continue des avocats et des parajuristes

Réseau d’encadrement de la pratique

Je suis extrêmement fier que nous ayons lancé le Réseau d’encadrement de la pratique (REP) en novembre 2016. Le REP fournit des conseillers à court terme et des formateurs à plus long terme pour favoriser des pratiques exemplaires dans les professions juridiques. Les participants améliorent leur compétence et leur confiance, et les formateurs et conseillers ont ainsi des occasions d’apprendre et d’approfondir leurs propres habiletés.

Dialogue sur l’accès à la profession

Après l’examen du projet pilote Voies d’accès en 2016, le Conseil a annoncé un Dialogue sur l’accès à la profession, à l’échelle de la province au début de 2017, dans un premier volet. Le but en est de formuler des recommandations à long terme pour créer un système d’admission des avocats qui soit pertinent et durable. Nous vous invitons à vous joindre au dialogue et à fournir votre réflexion sur quatre sujets : le besoin de changement ; la dynamique du marché ; les examens d’accès à la profession ; la formation transitionnelle.

Améliorer l’accès à la justice en Ontario

Le Groupe d’accès à la justice

En 2015, le Barreau a établi le Groupe d’accès à la justice (TAG) avec un financement de la Fondation du droit de l’Ontario, afin de favoriser une meilleure coordination et collaboration entre les secteurs de la justice. En 2016, TAG a lancé la toute première Semaine de l’accès à la justice en Ontario. Les évènements de cette semaine portaient sur des enjeux d’accès à la justice, y compris la technologie, l’éducation juridique publique et le bienêtre des enfants. TAG a aussi été nommé en 2016, pour deux prix d’accès juridique par l’American Bar Association pour son engagement auprès des bibliothécaires en région.

Groupe de travail sur l’aide juridique

En 2016, je me suis engagé à élever la participation du Barreau dans la discussion sur l’aide juridique en Ontario en formant un groupe de travail sur l’aide juridique. Ce groupe travaille avec des partenaires dans le domaine de la justice et dans les communautés pour explorer les possibilités d’obtenir un système solide et durable des services d’aide juridique pour la population de l’Ontario. Il faut un système d’aide juridique bien financé pour assurer l’accès à la justice pour les Ontariens et Ontariennes à faible revenu.

Droit devant

Je vous encourage à consulter le rapport annuel de 2016. Ce fut une année bien remplie au Barreau, et je suis fier des progrès que nous avons faits. Ils serviront de base solide à notre poursuite continue de l’excellence en 2017.

C’est grâce aux efforts de nos conseillers et conseillères, du personnel du Barreau et des nombreuses personnes avec qui j’ai eu l’honneur de travailler, que nous sommes en mesure de pousser notre mandat. Quand je regarde ce qui nous attend, j’ai confiance dans notre capacité à règlementer les professions sans l’intérêt public et d’assurer que les avocats et les parajuristes soient bien équipés pour servir les besoins juridiques de tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes.

Meegwetch. Merci. Thank you.