I invite you to explore the Law Society’s Annual Report to learn more about our mission to be a leading legal regulator committed to protecting the public interest. I am pleased with the significant advances we have made in several areas, summarized below.

Robert G.W. Lapper, Q.C. - Chief Executive Officer
Robert G.W. Lapper, Q.C.,
Chief Executive Officer

Organizational enhancements

The work of the Professional Regulation (PR) Division focusses on the protection of the public interest, through the resolution and investigation of complaints about Ontario's lawyers and paralegals conduct, competence and capacity.

Throughout the year, steps were taken to streamline processes and increase efficiencies within the PR Division, culminating with a new organizational structure implemented in February 2017.

The key changes include a larger Intake Resolution department, capable of more robust, early triage and resolution of complaints; a merger of the Complaints Resolution and Investigations departments; the creation of new multi-functional Enforcement teams; and the creation of a Technology and Evidence Control department to enhance our ability to receive, produce, manage, and control electronic data.

The Law Society is also working to improve the process by which Law Society policies are developed, approved and communicated.

Pursuing excellence

As a leading regulator, we seek to be a role model for our licensees and other organizations.

For the 11th consecutive year, we were named one of Greater Toronto’s Top Employers. I am proud that our efforts to create an inclusive, professional workplace have been recognized. As the CEO I have the privilege and the pleasure to work daily with a remarkable staff of highly skilled and engaged individuals.

To give us an accurate picture of who we are, the Law Society conducted a Diversity Census and Inclusion Survey with the Canadian Centre for Diversity and Inclusion. The majority of respondents feel included in the workplace, with a very strong representation of females, ethnic groups and persons with disabilities.

We also conducted an Engagement and Enablement Survey. The survey focused on enablement as the key to encouraging people to perform at their best every day. Overall, the results showed that we have a committed, proud, positive workforce who feels that their efforts make a difference.

Managing our financial resources

We are committed to the effective management of our financial resources.

After three years of unchanged annual fees for lawyers, and four years of unchanged fees for paralegals, we introduced an increase of $50 for both. However, we were pleased to offer those who enrolled in the Law Society’s Annual Pre-Authorized Payment Plan a discount equal to the annual fee increase.

I am confident that the budget set for 2017 (View a PDF version of the 2017 budget) will enable the Law Society to continue to advance our key strategic priorities laid out by our governing body, while supporting our important regulatory programs in the public interest.

Improving transparency through technology

We are progressing with our implementation of the three year technology plan, which includes a redesign of our website, an overhaul of the Licensee Database, and a number of enhancements to the Licensee Portal and the LSUC Store.

Redesign of the Law Society’s website is currently underway to better engage the public, professions and stakeholders and to build a strategic communications tool that effectively supports the organization’s core work.

The Licensee Database redesign initiative will focus on the functionality of our processes and systems that contain licensee data. The goals are to improve staff efficiency through access to one central system, to allow licensees a range of self-service options, and to improve access to justice via our public directories.

The Licensee Portal has a new and more consistent look and feel with improved functionality in several areas. We also launched the LSUC Store in May, providing members with greater functionality and convenience through a dedicated e-Commerce platform.

French Language Initiatives

The Law Society continued to advance its commitment to provide communications and services in the French language to licensing candidates, licensees and the public under the Law Society's French Language Services Policy and by-laws. It also continued its collaborative work with the French Language Services Commissioner under the protocol established to address complaints related to French language services and to make appropriate systemic and proactive changes.

The Law Society has extended its Programme de pratique du droit (PPD), the French language equivalent of the Law Practice Program, for an additional two years with a commitment to engage in a comprehensive review of the licensing requirements.

Looking ahead

As we begin 2017, I am extremely fortunate to work with talented staff dedicated to fulfilling our mandate. We are grateful to the many legal organizations and legal community partners with whom we engage and whose input is so valuable. I would also like to acknowledge and thank our Benchers in Convocation and our new Treasurer, Paul Schabas. Under their leadership, I am confident that the Law Society will continue to meet the obligation to regulate the professions in the public interest in an increasingly dynamic legal landscape.

Je vous invite à explorer le Rapport annuel du Barreau pour constater les progrès accomplis en 2016 relativement à notre mission d’organe de règlementation engagé à protéger l’intérêt public. Je suis heureux des avancées que nous avons faites dans plusieurs domaines, résumées ci-dessous.

Robert G.W. Lapper, c.r. - directeur général
Robert G.W. Lapper, c.r.,
directeur général

Améliorations organisationnelles

Le travail de la Direction de la règlementation professionnelle (RP) porte sur la protection de l’intérêt public, par la résolution et l’enquête des plaintes à l’égard de la conduite, de la compétence et la capacité des avocats et des parajuristes de l’Ontario.

Durant l’année, nous avons pris des mesures pour rationaliser les processus et pour augmenter l’efficacité au sein de la Direction de la RP, menant à la réorganisation de la structure organisationnelle en février 2017.

Les changements clés comprennent un Service de résolution plus grand, capable de mieux trier et résoudre les plaintes plus tôt dans le processus ; une fusion des services de la résolution des plaintes et des enquêtes ; la création d’équipes de contrôle professionnel multifonctionnelles ; la création d’un service de contrôle de la technologie et de la preuve pour améliorer notre capacité à recevoir, produire, gérer et contrôler les données électroniques.

Le Barreau travaille aussi à améliorer le processus par lequel ses politiques sont développées, approuvées et communiquées.

Recherche de l’excellence au travail

Comme organe principal de règlementation, nous voulons être un modèle pour nos titulaires de permis et pour les autres organisations.

Pour la 11e année consécutive, le Barreau a été reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs employeurs de la région du Grand Toronto. Je suis fier que nos efforts pour créer un milieu de travail inclusif et professionnel aient été reconnus. Comme DG, j’ai le privilège et le plaisir de travailler chaque jour avec un personnel remarquable formé de personnes hautement compétentes et engagées.

Pour nous donner un portrait précis de qui nous sommes, le Barreau a mené un recensement sur la diversité et un sondage sur l’inclusion avec le Centre canadien pour la diversité et l’inclusion. La majorité des répondants se sentent inclus au travail, avec une forte représentation de femmes, de groupes ethniques et de personnes handicapées.

Nous avons également mené un sondage sur l’engagement et la participation. Le sondage portait sur la participation comme élément clé pour encourager les personnes à faire de leur mieux chaque jour. En général, les résultats ont montré que nous comptons une main-d’œuvre engagée, fière et positive qui sent que ses efforts font une différence.

Gérer nos ressources financières

Nous sommes engagés à gérer efficacement nos ressources financières.

Après trois ans de cotisations inchangées pour les avocats, et quatre ans de cotisations inchangées pour les parajuristes, nous présenté une augmentation de 50 $. Cependant, nous étions ravis d’offrir aux membres inscrits au régime de prélèvements automatiques du Barreau un rabais équivalent à l’augmentation de la cotisation annuelle.

Je suis sûr que le budget prévu pour 2017 (voir une version PDF du budget 2017) permettra au Barreau de continuer à promouvoir les priorités stratégiques développées par son organe directeur, tout en soutenant ses importants programmes de règlementation dans l’intérêt public.

Améliorer la transparence par la technologie

Nous poursuivons notre mise en œuvre du plan technologique sur trois ans, qui comprend le renouvèlement de notre site Web, une refonte de notre base de données sur les titulaires et un certain nombre d’améliorations au portail du BHC et au magasin du BHC.

Le renouvèlement du site Web du Barreau est en cours pour mieux engager le public, les professions et les intervenants et pour bâtir un outil de communications stratégiques qui soutiennent efficacement le travail essentiel de l’organisation.

L’initiative de la refonte de notre base de données sur les titulaires portera sur la fonctionnalité de nos processus et nos systèmes qui contiennent des données sur nos membres avocats et parajuristes. Le but est d’améliorer l’efficacité du personnel par l’accès à un système central, pour donner aux avocats et aux parajuristes une gamme d’options de libre-service, et pour améliorer l’accès à la justice par nos répertoires publics.

Le portail des titulaires a un nouvel aspect plus uniforme et les fonctionnalités en sont améliorées dans plusieurs sections. Nous avons aussi lancé le magasin du BHC en mai, donnant aux membres une plus grande fonctionnalité et commodité par une plateforme de commerce virtuel.

Initiatives en français

Le Barreau a continué sur sa lancée à fournir des communications et des services en français aux candidats à l’accès à la profession, aux titulaires de permis et au public en vertu de sa Politique sur les services en français et ses règlements administratifs. Il a continué son travail de collaboration avec le commissaire aux services en français en vertu du protocole établi pour traiter des plaintes portant sur les services en français et pour faire des changements pertinents, systémiques et proactifs.

Le Barreau a prorogé son Programme de pratique du droit (PPD) de deux ans en s’engageant à faire un examen exhaustif des exigences d’admission.

Tournés vers l’avenir

En ce début de 2017, je me considère extrêmement chanceux de travailler avec un personnel aussi talentueux et dévoué pour réaliser notre mandat. Nous sommes reconnaissants aux nombreuses organisations juridiques et divers partenaires de la communauté avec qui nous communiquons et dont les réflexions nous sont si précieuses. Je veux aussi reconnaitre et remercier nos conseillers et conseillères et notre nouveau trésorier, Paul Schabas. Sous leur gouverne, je suis sûr que le Barreau continuera à s’acquitter de son obligation de règlementer les professions dans l’intérêt public dans un paysage juridique de plus en plus dynamique.